Kaycee’s Chronicles

Escape From Reality, Succumb To Temptation

To Catch a Thief- Samuel Harding

It’s a crisp Summer day as I sit in the sun sipping at my Iced Chai Tea Latte. The breeze plays with tendrils of my hair and brushes across my skin like that of a lover. I never do grow tired of Southern California, I enjoy the sun too much.

I have reason to celebrate as I’ve managed to nail down the Private Investigator that’s been wrecking havoc with my imagination. Samual Harding. I’ve managed to finally convince him to sit down and talk to me, to let you, the readers, meet him.

Finally, I look over and see the red Corvette steer into a parking spot outside the coffee shop. I watch as he unfolds his incredible length from the car, and saunters over to me, ever the confident alpha male. His light green eyes are striking and in perfect contract to that unruly brown hair. He lounges in the chair across from me a smirk on his face.

Here we go…

“Sam, I’m so glad you could find the time to join me today.”

He crosses his legs and leans back a little. It’s not a problem. Just had to rearrange a few things on my list.”

It amazes me how confident he is with himself. I should have known he would be of course, but seeing it here in person is a whole nother matter. I clear my throat. “How have you been? Work been keeping you busy?”

He rolls his eyes and lets out a laugh that comes from so deep within, i find myself leaning toward him intrigued by it.  “Oh that’s right, you’ve been working on that jewel heist. I forgot. How is coming along?”

“As good as can be expected. Could be better.”

Ah. I hit a nerve, I see that now. He’s seems rather frustrated with the case. His fingers begin to drum across his thighs and I can tell he’s rethinking this meeting.That’s right. Presley isn’t helping as much as you had hoped.”

The woman is stubborn. She doesn’t understand how dangerous this whole situation is.”

Interesting that he cares so much. “Have you tried to tell her?”

“She doesn’t listen.”

“You care for her.”

His eyes cloud over as he blocks the emotions from showing, but I notice how tight his jaw gets and I nod. It’s answer enough for me.

“It’s okay to care, Sam. It doesn’t mean it will end up like last time.”

“There aren’t any gurantees that it won’t. I won’t take the chance.”  I watch as he struggles to keep his anger and frustration under control. So many emotions play across his face it amazes me.

“Maybe you should. Maybe she’ll open to you then if you show that you care.”

“She doesn’t trust me or anyone. Only herself.”   He sighs and shakes his head.

“I’m sure there are reasons for that.”

“She should feel comfortable with me damn it. Can’t she see how I feel?”   He slams his fist on the table, and I jump a little.

“Perhaps she feels the same, but is afraid like you.”

“Well then she needs to stop.”   Poor Sam, I hadn’t realized how attached to her he’d become after such a short period. Perhaps I should have been more careful throwing him back into the field after his fiance died.

“Maybe you should listen to your own advice. You’re just as stubborn as she, I made you both that way so you’d have to overcome it and work together.”

“Thanks for that by the way.”  A ghost of a smile played across his lips and his eyes lost their shield briefly.

“Welcome. Didn’t I hear Presley’s house was broken into?”

His eyes grew dark, his fists clenched.

I’ll kill whoever did that to her.”

“I’m sure justice will be served.”

“Will it?” He looked at me quizzingly.

I smile. “My lips are sealed, you’ll have to wait and find out for yourself. Just don’t be afraid to fall in love, if you have to be the one who shows her how it can be first then so be it.”

He stood up and stretched. I should be going, got a case to solve.”

I nod. “Thank you for meeting with me, Sam.”

“Thanks for torturing my heart, Kaycee.” I laughed loud at that one.

“I’m sure you’ll mean that thank you eventually. Goodbye for now.”

He inclined his head, and I watched as he walked away, his hands shoved in his pockets.  The roar of his Corvette fades in the distance as he speeds away.

He’ll lock himself in his office as he always does when he needs to thinks. I want to tell him not to worry, that they’ll find the diamonds, that both Presely and her niece will be safe, but there are no guarantees, just as he said earlier. I want him to be able to understand that it’s okay to move on, that Presley won’t end up like his fiance. But I can’t, I may be the author, but it’s his story, and he needs to experience the journey and find happiness with Presley and Jasmine on his own.

 

 

 

 

March 22, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

1 Comment »

  1. Interviewing your characters is a fun concept, Kaycee! They’re so real, (well, sort of) why not? I enjoyed meeting your PI.

    Comment by Pat McDermott | March 23, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment